top of page

Drooping This Evening…

I am too tired to write tonight. I don’t want to write anything. I want to go upstairs, take a nice long bath and go straight to bed. Some days are like that. No writing inspiration at all. I have been writing all day today – editing other people’s work. That’s okay. I like editing. There’s something satisfying about cutting away excess words and getting to the heart of a story or essay. Or adding a few paragraphs to break up a big block of text so the reader can more fully experience the story. So, yes, editing is a good mental exercise for me and, I’m sure, improves my own writing just through the sheer practice of dealing with pages and pages of writing. So, that’s good.

But tonight I am fairly worn out. I edited, I fielded questions from my online writing class, I saw a few students. I also helped Ray clean out the garage. Or, more accurately, to tidy up the garage, which already has been cleared out. That is a positive step – and one that is almost always on the to do list – but that activity coupled with students coupled with a 2 hour Maundy Thursday mass this evening in which I served as an acolyte have left me feeling pretty darned tired.

So, here I am writing away even though I don’t want to. The dogs are walking around on these hard wood floors and I am tired enough that all the clicking of their toenails is driving me crazy. But I am happy they are here because they both got out this afternoon and ran into our busy street. Luckily, all the drivers screeched to a halt and waited until we ran out to get them. One driver looking down could have made our lives miserable; so, we are grateful. I can speak for Ray on this, I know, since he is almost more in love with these two dogs than I am, if that’s possible. Yes, we were very lucky the drivers were so alert. Otherwise, we’d been in pain now, suffering our loss.

Okay, surely that’s been twenty minutes. It will just have to be because that’s all I’ve got. I am tapped out of words as of now.

So, good night to all. Sleep well. That is my goal, as well. Hopefully, tomorrow I’ll be a bit more enthusiastic, but for now, so long.

tired_woman2
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page