top of page

Early Birthday Celebration for Rachael

We have just arrived home after visiting our daughter, Rachael, in McKinney. Friday is her 23rd birthday, but she has to work so we celebrated this evening. Rachael and I both commemorated her birth by going to the Sprint store and getting new iPhones. I have had an android for the longest time and she has had an iPhone, but an earlier version. So, after spending 2 hours there, waiting and then being waited upon, we emerged with our new mobile devices in hand.

I am eager to try mine for the enhanced photo feature. My android had gotten so slow it was a little like having someone with an old-fashioned camera say, “Now don’t move. I mean really don’t move. In just a minute, I promise, this thing will click.”

Ray says I can now shoot 10 pictures in the time one took with my older camera.

The actual telephone function becomes the least interesting element of these devices. All the other gadgets are what now seem to make all the difference.

We ate pizza with Rachael and then went to her apartment for her present-opening. Her dad had found a wonderful yellow mixer that brought a smile to Rachael’s face. She also received a few little items including Life in the Leatherwoods, a book I had given my mother back in 1979 on her April birthday. This was purely sentimental, but I could see Rachael appreciated it. I knew she would.

We had a lovely time with our almost 23-year-old baby girl. Lots of laughing. A mark of times spent with Rachael.

Unfortunately, my homemade birthday cake turned out to be a big disappointment.  Hard as a rock is a more apt description.  I made it earlier today and put it in the refrigerator.  I guess that was a bad idea.  Luckily, nobody was very hungry and we all got a good laugh out of it.  I still don’t quite know what happened since I bake all the time, but never again will I put a cake in the fridge just in case that was the problem!

Oh well, next time I’ll make a soft cake…

Happy upcoming birthday, Rachael Marie Beaty.  I love you!

Rachael, Luna and Me (not my best hair day)

Two Weeks Ago at Luna’s Birthday


10010195_10103238672221726_4019809572271571319_o
0 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page