top of page

Easy Does It: The Challenges of the “Writing to Heal” Class

Here is an email I sent to my online students who are taking the Writing as a Way of Healing class through Story Circle Network today. Since I mentioned in a earlier post that I would give you updates on my progress in reference to this subject, I decided that this will show how all is going so far.

Hi ladies,

As you know, this is my first time to teach this class so I am learning as you are learning. This is what I learned as of last night when I began my own writing of a traumatic event from my past:

1) I can see that writing a balanced account is very helpful. I have not in the past spent time on any of the positive elements of the relationship I had with a boyfriend who later became an abuser and I can see how I actually fell in love with him in the first place – this is very healing to discover. So, writing the positive aspects is going to be good.

2) After almost an hour of writing, I have not even gotten to the traumatic event yet as I am giving a detailed retelling for myself with diversions along the way. This is good in that I am remembering the whole picture of that time and the people involved and again this is helpful for my healing process.

3) I have never written why this event has been “good” for me or what insight I’ve gained from having had this trauma. I will look forward to that and can see that doing this can only be positive and healing. Again, another good thing.

4) And most important to you all: If I thought I had to share this writing with anyone, then it would profoundly change how I write it. I would be editing myself all along the way and not give myself the right to just face this very difficult experience head-on on the page.

Alas, we have to rethink how we’re doing this class. I do not want any of you to feel as if you are writing for an audience as you chronicle these painful events. This writing is for YOU. Also, I don’t want you to feel a need to rush through this writing so you can meet an artificial deadline.

Therefore, I think it may be more helpful for you if we do several things differently:

a) Rather than sharing the writing, you can provide a chronicle of your process just as I did above.

b) You can simply let the group know a general area you will be exploring – mine is the abuse of a long-ago boyfriend. You can also pass on this information if you wish – just say “Pass.”

c) You can break the next weeks up with the reading of this book with the chapters I suggest and writing through this event.

d) Each week your writing assignment can be your writing process for the week unless you feel especially compelled to share the writing of the inciting incident.

The last thing I want to do is provide more distress for you during this writing process. So, do not feel any need to post the actual story of these events. Simply use the guidelines for therapeutic writing and let us know how each section of the story is working in a “process” piece. Our comments will center on your process, not the writing.

Sorry for this misstep on my part.

Please let me know you’ve read this and your thoughts. Again, I can match the class to your personal needs. You just need to let me know what they are.

Len


5694121167_65b5c7ab22
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page