top of page

Edging Up on A Thousand Posts

Today’s post is #989.  That means that in 11 days I will be at 1000 posts since I began this 20 minute a day experiment a few year’s back.  One of my students suggests that I have a party to celebrate my 1000th post.  I don’t know about that, but I am pleased that my writing has added up over this time.  That is a good feeling.  Also, I have a pretty good chronicle of these past few years represented here in these posts, as well as some flash fiction, personal essay and even some haiku.  (One of my relatives mentioned that she never reads my posts if they are haiku so I stopped writing very many.  I was surprised to find, however, that ]I liked several when I went looking.  Here they are:

Healing Gifts

This was a good day An old friend was kind to me Gave back some keep-sakes

Nothing of value Except to me and my kin A kind gift of love

Good actions can heal Close wounds that have long since ached Shift coldness to warmth

Tonight I sleep glad Knowing big-heartedness lives Feeling its embrace

And another:

Texas

A storm approaches The air is thick with moisture Bugs cling to the screens

Darkness slows down time Far off a train whistle sings The moon cast shadows

Lamplight glows soft cream Peppermint tea wafts City thoughts far off

We are now back home Ten miles from the Red River Here the air smells clean

And one more:

A Perfect Day

We drove the coast road Sun glinting on blue water Surfers atop waves

We headed inland Our grove filled with orange blossoms Sweet scents filled the air

At dusk we found wood And built a roaring campfire Hot dogs roasted brown

The curved moon was pale Venus and Mars shone bright white Stars filled the dark sky

We packed up the car With food, coats and a tired dog Started the trek back

Tailights guided us Home on the crowded highway Soft warm beds await

A perfect Sunday Ocean, orange blossoms, campfire April’s brand-new start

Not everybody likes poetry, or better said, my attempt at poetry.  That’s okay.  Still, I love the succinctness of the form.  It feels satisfying to write.

So, 11 days until my 1000th blog post.  

I am pleased about that accomplishment.

Maybe I’ll start writing a little haiku again after I hit 1000.  

That would be okay.

Sleep well, my friends.


989
0 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page