top of page

Evening with Our Expanding Family

We are driving back from Arcadia where we had supper with Sarah, Gregorio, Liz and Ron.  Rachael was not with us; she was on a plane returning from a trip to Texas with her roommate, Keara.  As we drive back home through Pasadena and Glendale, I can see a beautiful crescent moon on the western sky.  The moon now has an added significance since  Luna will be my new granddaughter’s name.

Sarah and Gregorio had us all for dinner: grilled chicken and vegetables plus mashed potatoes and freshly baked bread.  One of the advantages of having Gregorio in our family is that he is an exceptional cook.  We always look forward to invitations that include food.  On top of that, Ron, Liz’s boyfriend, made an agave sweetened dessert that Ray and I could enjoy since we don’t eat refined sugar.  So, a mini-Thanksgiving before Turkey Day.

We saw the ultra-sound videos of baby Luna, and also heard her heartbeat with a monitor Sarah has.  She is a strong and healthy baby girl, so we are all happy.  Babies do have a way of drawing families together.

We are planning a trip to Ensenada, Mexico to meet Gregorio’s family.  This will be my first trip to Baja and is over my birthday weekend so I’m excited.  We are going to rent a house right on the ocean for a few days and spend time seeing Gregorio’s home while getting to know his parents, brothers and grandmother.  What a great way to bring 60 in!  I am already excited.

I’m so happy to have these sweet young men in Sarah and Liz’s lives.  It is a mother’s greatest wish to see her children happy.  I see that with all three of my girls and this gives me great pleasure.  Our family is expanding in the best possible way!

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page