top of page

Family Sickness and Jury Duty Update

Ray and Rachael – both of whom rose at 5 am and drove to Ojai to fertilize our orange trees – are now sick in bed. Ray has been congested all afternoon since returning, and Rachael has thrown up at least 5 times. Ray’s ailment is probably related to allergies; Rachael’s looks a bit more like food poisoning. They stopped at Taco Bell on the way home, but Ray is fine while Rachael is not and they both ate the same thing. Hmmm. The fertilizer was supposed to be organic. I don’t know. Something odd is going on here. Ray said he saw a neighbor of ours up in Ojai who said she was sick, too, with something she had caught “when down in LA.” Still, I haven’t heard tell of anybody sick down here …

The gist: I am sitting in a quiet house with two people already in bed at 9:20 pm.

Today was an easy day at jury duty. I can’t say more, but we were dismissed at 11:30 this morning and told to return tomorrow at 10 am. So, we left and had to wade through a sea of reporters and camera people all loitering around hoping for a shot or interview with a member of Michael Jackson’s family (they are in court suing AEG in a civil case for hiring the doctor who administered the drug that killed Michael). I was home by noon and was able to go to the airport with some friends who I won’t see for about six months. That was an unexpected treat.

Now it is dead quiet in the house. So far, I’d say that Rachael’s stomach must have settled. She told me she’d call me if she again feels sick. Ray is dead to the world.

On that note, I think I’ll head up and get ready for the night. I am grateful for a slow court day and I have a little hope that the end is in sight. I won’t know until tomorrow, but I believe we’re heading in that direction. Happy day!

Sleep well, my friends. Until tomorrow…

family sick
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page