top of page

Family Visit and Straining to Hear

My brother, Sam; his girlfriend, Jaime; and Sam’s grown kids Hutch and Charlsie are visiting us at the moment. This is my little brother – five years younger than I am – and he and I are the two remaining siblings out of a family of six children. We are funny together. We are more alike than different and it is not any clearer than when Sam’s girlfriend and my husband begin teasing us about just how hard-of-hearing Sam and I both are.

We both are right on the line of needing a heading aid, and as a result there are lots of moments when it’s clear that either Sam or I have mis-heard what someone else has said. At one point, we both strained to hear something Jaime was saying from another room and I felt as if I was watching my reflection as Sam tilted his head and turned his ear towards the door, the mirror image of what I had just done as well.

It’s great to have family here. I am enjoying this visit very much. Right now Sam, Hutch, Charlsie and my husband Ray are up on Sunset Boulevard checking out some of the clubs up there. I’m happy to be home with Jaime and daughter Rachael. Call me old if you like, but I have no need to go club hopping. Still, I wish them well.

So, off to bed I go. I guess that next step in the “hearing” saga is to go once again for a hearing test. I have gone almost 4 years without one and I suspect I may have tipped on over and could now benefit from some help with my hearing.

Maybe Sam and I need matching ear horns!

Happy night . Until tomorrow.

0 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page