top of page

First Day Back in LA

I am finally back in LA after two weeks away. Ray and I got up early this morning and drove in from Ojai. We left at 5:45 am to beat the traffic. We barely made it, encountering some major bogs as we approached LA. Luckily, Ray suggested a diversionary route which helped us avoid much of the 405 parking lot. We arrived home right at 8 am. That was 2 hours and 15 minutes for a drive that normally takes an hour and a half. Another ten minutes and it might have been a 3 hour trip back. A few minutes can make all the difference when dealing with LA rush hour.

The rush to get home was connected to my first student, who arrived at 9 am. We worked for 2 1/2 hours on a paper for her Clinical Psychology Master’s course. I then turned my attention to my online class that started yesterday. I have 8 students (a full class) who will be writing for 20 minutes a day, 6 days a week for 30 days. I can already tell it’s going to be a great group of women with lots of diverse life experience to share. Lots of interesting reading ahead!

This evening I hosted a writing group here at my home. It was a small group – only two other people – but it was fun and informative and positive in spirit. I’m glad I took a nap beforehand. Otherwise, I might have been too tired to have enjoyed the group. As it was, I am now jazzed to get back to work on my work-in-progress so I’ll have something to read at our next month’s group.

On that note, I’m headed upstairs to bed. A long day. A good day. I am happy to be back home though I had a great trip in Texas and in Ojai.

I hope your first day after the Memorial Day weekend has gone well.

I’ll check back in with you tomorrow.

palm trees
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page