top of page

First Full Day Home

I guess it would be disingenuous of me to think I could write about anything else besides my new little granddaughter, Luna, the girl with whom I just spent the greater part of the afternoon and the evening.

I guess you wouldn’t be surprised to hear how velvety soft her skin is – and her hair – and how adorable her little newborn fuzz is that covers her back and little ears.

I guess hearing that I got to change two diapers and hold her for hours wouldn’t come as a major surprise.

Or that I examined her graceful little hands and feet very carefully and determined that her fingers looked strangely like mine, while the shape of her fingernails are exactly the same as her daddy’s.

She appears to have her mother’s eyes, her father’s nose, Auntie Rachael’s (and mother’s) face shape, her Auntie Liz’s coloring, and her Grandpa’s miniscule rear end. On the other hand, she looks identical to Gregorio’s baby pictures and a great deal like Gregorio’s mother so I think both sides of the family may be laying claim to various features. Either way (or both) our little Luna Isabella is gorgeous. (Yes, I know I might be slightly biases.)

I am happy to say that Sarah and Gregorio got to take a nap today while Grandma and Grandpa took care of their brand new granddaughter.

That was a win-win for everyone.

Now, however, I will close since I have a little sleep to catch up on.

Sarah and Gregorio will have to catch up with cat naps. Ray and I get the benefit of a full night sleep.

I remember how tiring those first weeks are. Hopefully, they’ll get lucky with a few long hours each night.

Unfortunately, night one at home was fitful. Perhaps night two will go a bit better.

It will take a little time to get into a routine.

Until then, we’ll drop back in to provide a little respite for those weary parents.

And maybe to snuggle just a bit with our new little girl.

482225_10152679497725184_207228979_n
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page