top of page

Flash Essay: Chest Cold, Students and the Oscars

I have a grand chest cold, one that causes me to seize up when I cough and rattle when I breathe. No fever, no aches and pains, just a cough that makes people instinctively step back, as if to say, “Please don’t give me whatever it is you’ve got.”

Besides that, I saw students from 10 am until 6:30 since we’re in term paper season. We had friends over to watch the Oscars after my students and my husband, Ray, handled all the food. I finished with my last student and arrived in the television room, hungry and ready to see my old friends. We ate roasted chicken, potatoes, broccoli and French bread and chatted while we watched the Academy Awards. I can’t pretend I don’t love the Oscars. I do. They represent recognition after hard creative work and I admire that. I thought Billy Crystal did a decent job and I was glad Meryl Streep broke her losing streak. And, of course, that Cirque du Soleil performance made me want to head down to the Santa Monica pier so I can see their show live. I am definitely going to do that, though I don’t think I can drag Ray there, who hates that sort of thing. Anyway, I was entertained.

I don’t have a lot to share today. This is my effort to post because that’s my commitment, to post everyday. Alas, not a riveting read, but at least I will have made good on my promise to myself.

I am heading to bed. I have a full day tomorrow and then life slows down a bit after that. The papers start being finished and I can shift my attention to my writing. I like that part.

With that, I bide you good night. Hope all is well and I’ll hopefully share something slightly more interesting tomorrow. Sleep well.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page