top of page

Flash Essay: Heat and Hard Work Do Not Make for the Best Guest

Today was hot and full of outdoor activity. That makes for tiredness. I drank lots of iced tea while outside and took periodic rests, but I still ended the day feeling as if someone had pulled the plug on me.

That did not make me a very engaging guest when visiting friends I’d been looking forward to talking with. I was fine during dinner, but afterward we settled into comfortable chairs in their living room and about five minutes later I went sound asleep. I woke up periodically to try to listen and add to the conversation, but I just couldn’t keep my eyes open.

When we returned home, our neighbors were sitting out on their porch. We went over to say hello since we know they’re off on a trip tomorrow and we’re headed back to CA in the next couple of days. We were sitting there chatting when all of a sudden my eyelids grew heavy and the next thing I knew my husband was saying, “Okay, Len, since you’re asleep, maybe we should go home.” I think they’d been talking fifteen or twenty minutes by then, but it could have been three minutes or an hour.

Alas, I am now home and can’t wait to crawl into bed. I am pleased with all of this organizing and clearing out, but now I just want to sleep. It might have been better if I’d just stayed home this evening, but I thought I had more steam.

Luckily our friends invited us back over tomorrow night. I’ll try to take it a little slower tomorrow so that they don’t have to watch me snooze.  I might be pushing my luck for future dinner invitations if I keep this up!

0 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page