top of page

Flash Essay: Late Night, Class Preparation, and Two Sweet Dogs

It is 12:43 in the morning. The night is quiet. The dogs are sleeping at my feet. I have been preparing for the personal essay writing course that I am teaching for the next five weeks through Story Circle Network. I have been reading and getting ready for the past several days, but tonight was the time to do that final work. This came after a full day with church, three hours of students, plus a dinner engagement. Hence the late (or early) hour.

I am using Crafting the Personal Essay: A Guide for Writing and Publishing Creative Nonfiction by Dinty W. Moore as my required text for this course. I interviewed Dinty when I was the guest editor for SheWrites back in April and I found his thoughts on personal essay writing and creative nonfiction to be inspirational. He has another book coming out in September through the Rose Metal Press which will be called the Field Guide to Writing Creative Nonfiction. I can’t wait to read that.

I love teaching these courses through Story Circle Network, which is a non-profit organization devoted to women telling their stories. I have met through my teaching so many wise, wonderful and talented women. It’s been a pleasure so far and I expect this course to be no exception.

But now, I am going to bed. I will have to rouse the dogs to move them upstairs. Sammie is settling in like a champ. She and Cordelia are already acting like long-lost buddies. I just have to train Sammie not to bark at our poor cat, William, who looks rather annoyed to have a second dog to deal with after having just trained Cordelia to behave herself. I expect Sammie will fall into line fairly quickly given William’s proclivity for a sharp smack otherwise.

Off I go to bed. Night to all.

0 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page