top of page

Flash Essay: When Inspiration Isn’t Coming

I am struggling to come up with something to write tonight. My mind is blank. I have had several false starts already, meaning I’ve picked a topic, written half a page, then deleted the whole paragraph. I don’t usually do that, but tonight appears to be one of those nights, where all ideas seem not worth pursuing or else just boring. Hmmm. What to do?

Let me think…

I could look at a photo and write from that or else just pick a word at random and go with that. Or I could describe what I see all around me or maybe listen to some music and see what inspiration comes from that. Or I could go into the kitchen and get something to eat and then see if the taste of the food sparks a memory or a thought or some connection, or…

Yeah, no, this isn’t exactly shifting me into action. Just more prompts that I’m rejecting.

So, what to do? I could just call it a night and go to bed. That is probably what’s really happening here, I’m just tired and writing feels more like a chore than a pleasure. But I am committed to writing at least 20 minutes a day, whether I am inspired or not, so you can see that is what I’m doing. Writing whether I am inspired – and inspiring – mainly to honor this practice that I have created for myself. A good practice and one that has been responsible for me producing a huge amount of writing in the past several months, which serves as practice for my writing in general.

I was shocked in my quest for memoir prompts tonight. I googled “flash memoir prompts” and found pages of my blog entries because I often label them as flash memoir. I guess something good is coming from this minimum of 20 minutes a day of writing. That was pretty exciting to see. I suddenly have what they call a “web presence.” Wow.

So, I am almost done with my 20 minutes of writing and that will be it for me tonight. No great shakes here except a visible sign that I’m honoring my daily writing commitment. That is a good thing. That is an especially good thing tonight as I wind up this blog.

Fellow bloggers, what do you write about when you draw a blank? I would appreciate a few suggestions…

And with that, I bid you adieu. Happy dreams to all; to all a good night.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page