top of page

Flash Fiction Prompt: He Said/She Said

Flash Fiction Prompt:

The two “characters” should disagree about an issue or subject and their dialogue should have a subtext, an emotional truth that is operating on a deeper and perhaps hidden level.

He said: I thought you were going to the market today.

She said: Why do you say market instead of grocery store?  Market sounds so pretentious.

He said: I like saying market.  It differentiates itself from other stores. It just makes sense.

She said:  What is more descriptive than grocery store?  Besides, I did go.  There is food in the freezer.

He said: I thought we’d have dinner tonight since you were going to buy food.

She said: You do a lot of thinking and not a lot of doing.

He said:  I guess we’ll just go out then.

She said: Why do you always want to go out?

He said: I’m hungry.  I want to eat.  There’s no food prepared.

She said: So you think that’s my job?

He said:  I don’t think anything.  I just need to eat.

She said:  There are frozen dinners right there.  Turn on the oven and pop one in.

He said:  I want fresh food.  I thought that was what I’d find when I got home.

She said:  So you think I have nothing better to do than fix food for you?  I’d like a partner who saw to my every need.

He said:  The fact is that I don’t have that.  Like I said, I’m hungry and there is no food.

She said:  Was there ever a time that you were happy with me?”

He said:  I’m not unhappy.  I just need to eat something.

She said:  But life has changed since we moved here.  You’re so independent now.  As if you don’t really need me any more.

He said:  I do need you.  I need for you to buy food when you say you will.  Or buy food that I can eat immediately after work.  I am too hungry to wait an hour for a frozen dinner to cook.  Plus, I think frozen dinners are tacky.

She said: You see.  There it is!  You’ve changed.  You think you’re too sophisticated for frozen lasagna.

He said:  Frozen lasagna?  That sounds good.  I’ll turn on the oven.

She said:  No, let’s go out.  That’s what you want.  Go out and be seen by your new friends.  Let’s go.

He said:  I’m happy to eat lasagna here.  How long will it take?

She said:  An hour.  So, let’s go out.

He said:  No, I’ll just go turn on the oven.

She said:  Fine, you do that.  I’m going out.

He said:  But why?

She said:  Because this has stopped being fun.

He said:  I’m just hungry.

She said:  See you later.

He said:  I could go with you.

She said:  No, you stay here.  I’m not even hungry.  I think I’ll just go for a walk.

He said: I’ll be waiting.

She said: Just eat.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page