top of page

Flash Fiction Prompt: What Can I Do?

“What can I do?” I asked and they said, “Nothing.” I didn’t know what to say so I left and headed down to the river where I could hear the waves lapping onto the shore and I could sit in the dark and feel safe for the first time all day. I wasn’t a bad person, just misguided sometimes. Never with malicious intent, but sometimes I screwed up and this was one of those times. I headed home and thought along the way I might stop in and see my friend June but when I got to her house I saw through the window that she had a man visiting. I watched as they laughed and talked. I knew I shouldn’t be peeking like that, but I couldn’t help but wonder what it would feel like to be that man with someone smiling so big at me. When had that last happened? So, I went on home and just as I was heading up the stairs to my apartment, I heard the baby crying down in Apartment 2C and I went over and stood in front of their door for a long time. That baby was cute and pink and needed love and nobody ever seemed all that interested in her. So, I tried the door, but it was locked and then I had the idea that I could peek in their window to make sure that the baby was safe, but when I tried to climb on the wall outside their apartment I couldn’t get a toe hold so I got the ladder I knew was behind the garage.  I climbed up and was just looking in when a car stopped on the street and red and blue lights started flashing.  I heard, “Hey, what are you doing up there?” and as usual I went silent and the policeman grabbed me rough by the ankle and pulled me down and told me to stand still, but I knew I would never be able to explain so I ran and the the next thing I knew I was face down on the street wondering how I got there.  I felt the warmth of my blood as it seeped onto my shirt and I thought, damn, this was it and I had hardly started but then again, life wasn’t always that good anyway.  A siren whined in the distance and I knew that they’d get there and save me and I would have to finally try to explain what I had been doing. What a night. What a situation. What a damn big problem I had now.

0 views0 comments

Σχόλια


bottom of page