top of page

Flash Poetry Prompt: Venturing Into The Unknown – 1973

First, having scoured all the travel books,

And sold my car,

And gotten my passport and plane ticket

I don my

Backpack of purple canvas

My silly “Earth” shoes

My ‘70’s maroon jeans and top.

I am on my way

Not like Jack Kerouac with his

drunken friends

Cruising down Route 66

But on this plane solo.

I go up,

Higher and higher and yet

The cabin lights dim

The dark night sky

White stars blazing

In the vacuum of space.

I go up.

My coach seat cramping me,

I arrive in the morning light

And no one greets me

To say we’re now in Paris

You are on your own.

First, the airport is full and then

It is fuller and then loud and then

Confusing I am confused and yet

My Earth shoes are confident

They propel me forward

This foreign land is different

This foreign world does not honor confidence

I have to acclimate

To listen without straining

In this far-off place.

And now, I must remind myself

Why I am doing this

As I walk among the natives

Of this foreign land

As they greet long-unseen family

Clutching their Chanel jackets

At the gates

And anyway

You feel awkward over here.

I came to learn about foreign places.

The intention has a goal.

The intention has direction.

I came to witness the differences among us

And the similarities that exist.

I open my eyes and look

Carefully among the crowd

At qualities more universal

Than state or nationality.

1 view0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page