top of page

Food, Memories and Writing

Tomorrow I start teaching an online class for Story Circle Network entitled “Food, Memories and Writing.” I’ve taught this class before and it’s one of my favorites since food is such a great catalyst for memoir writing. After all, many memories are tied to food, such as my Aunt Millie’s silky egg custard that she sent home after our family visits to her home in Bailey, or Velma Rae Forgy’s fluffy yeast rolls that were a staple at every church supper at Holy Trinity, or the A&W root beer stand’s crispy Frito pies served right out of the package that were a school lunchtime favorite. In addition, food and emotion go hand in hand since we usually share a meal at times of celebration as well as sorrow. The white icing of wedding cake is connected to feelings of happiness for me, and macaroni and cheese, a staple at funeral luncheons, is pure comfort food. But it is not only the consumption of food that spurs memories and emotions, but the preparation of it, as well.

I love it when people appreciate my cooking. This brings me an acute sense of happiness, though I’m not exactly sure why. After all, my mother was not a cook in the least, so I don’t have feelings tied to her adeptness in the kitchen or happy early memories of us cooking together. (My happy mother memories are associated with being snuggled up in bed next to her, propped up on pillows, each reading a book.) But, nevertheless, I am always pleased when someone remarks that they love my cooking. It is as if I have connected with them on some non-verbal level, one that is universal and elemental. We have broken bread together – bread that I have made – and they have received pleasure from my labor. What is more basic than that?

Yesterday I made the food for the church reception we had for one of our two newly ordained priests. Today, several people told me how much they enjoyed that meal. I felt genuinely pleased. It was as if their pleasure directly translated into my pleasure; their satisfaction into my satisfaction. I know I am not unique when it comes to this. This is what fuels every cook in every part of the world. Good food making people happy and creating a sense of connection and community.

My goal used to be only to be a good cook. Now I’d like to aspire to be an exceptional cook. As my skill increases, my desire to become even more adept increases as well. After all, there’s nothing more satisfying than seeing someone wolf down my food; nothing better than seeing a whole tableful of empty plates at the end of a meal.

My mother would shake her head at this aspiration and say, “Wouldn’t you rather be reading a good book?” And my answer would be, “I’d rather cook an excellent meal and then read a good book.”

She might smile at that response. After all, she did appreciate a good meal…

So, as you might imagine, I am excited about my upcoming class related to food, memories and writing. I expect we’ll have lots of fun. We’ll also be sharing recipes. That will definitely be good since I’ll be inspired to try them out and share the results with people I love.


food
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page