top of page

Food, Spirits and a No to “The Conjuring”

Yesterday, I cooked chicken enchiladas and hot buttered rice for lunch followed by homemade chocolate cupcakes with a honey-sweetened peach compote for dessert. Yum. Everything was delicious, and, best of all, the cupcakes and peach sauce were fat-free. (I wish I could say the same for the enchiladas and the rice, but cheese and butter were two of their main ingredients.)

Ray and I had a friend over for lunch and after visiting for a bit, they headed off to see the movie that is advertised as being “the scariest movie ever made, The Conjuring. My husband, who never gets afraid at films was looking forward to it; our friend, who often gets frightened at movies was nervous, but slightly excited to see “just how scared he would get.” I, however, like to avoid horror films, particularly about paranormal activity because I tend to have an overly active imagination, which goes to work overtime after seeing one of these. The Exorcist prompted a time when I decided to be an atheist. My logic: if I don’t believe in Satan, then I have no need to be afraid. That lack of belief only lasted for a while, however, so now I am back to being a scaredy-cat.

I looked up online a second ago what are considered the 100 scariest movies and the one that topped the list was Silence of the Lambs. Surprisingly, this kind of movie, while frightening to me, does not have the same impact as The Exorcist or Rosemary’s Baby or even The Shining since these all have something to do with “spirits” and that’s what gets me quaking in my boots. A serial killer is unpleasant, to be sure, but having evil spirits in your house, now that scares the bejesus out of me. Of course, if you’re going to have a spiritual belief, then it would follow that you might believe there are good and evil spirits out there. That’s where the problems come in for me.

Alas, I’ll see how my husband and our friend fare on their movie outing.

Update:

They said that the movie was just “okay.” It was “scary in parts, but not that scary.”

Ray did say that it was probably good that I didn’t go since the house reminded him a bit of our house in Texas before we renovated and I might find myself alone there at some point and revisiting scenes from the movie.

I am happy to have missed The Conjuring. I don’t have any need in my life to see movies that inspire me to wonder if an evil spirit is lurking in a closet in my house. I prefer more benign thoughts than that – like deciding whether I’m going to make chicken or cheese enchiladas for lunch, or just how many of those fat-free chocolate cupcakes I can eat without edging on gluttony.

That seems like a better use of my time…


Conjuring_poster
3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page