top of page

Frankenweenie – Not What I Expected

We went this afternoon to see Tim Burton’s Frankenweenie, a movie I’ve been looking forward to seeing. Alas, I must say that I was disappointed. The film is in black and white to begin with, and I immediately longed for color. Second, though I liked the main character and his dog, Sparkie, I didn’t like any of his friends in school, and they are in the movie a lot. Plus, I thought it was too scary for little kids. It gets pretty intense by the end of the movie with the appearance of some pretty scary monsters. Fourth, I thought the ending (which I will no reveal) was slightly misleading for little kids. Five of us saw the movie and 1 out of the 5 liked it; the rest of us didn’t hate it, but would have preferred seeing another movie instead.

Another odd event associated coincidentally with this film is that 5 minutes before the end of the movie, the ushers asked us to evacuate the theater due to a “health emergency.” As we filed out, we saw at least 6 EMTs trying to rouse an older woman who was slumped in her chair, looking dead. Just as I was leaving the theater, she opened her eyes and the EMTs were saying something about a diabetic coma. They wheeled her out, we all filed back into the theater, and watched the last few minutes of the film. An odd event, and one I have never before experienced despite the 100’s of movies I’ve seen over my life.

I had high hopes for Frankenweenie, and they were not met. I would put it as a 5 on a scale of 1 – 10 with 10 being fabulous. That should tell you everything you need to know.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page