top of page

Going to Say Good-Bye to a Childhood Friend

I went to the viewing of my childhood friend, Marsh White, today at Waldo funeral home here in Sherman. I wanted to pay my respects since I can’t attend the funeral tomorrow in our hometown of Bonham, Texas.

I haven’t seen Marsh in person since we graduated from high school together back in 1971. However, he has had a big presence on the Internet over the past several years and I have gotten a window into Marsh’s life through his frequent religious postings. You see, Marsh studied at Dallas Theological Seminary and was quite a man of God. In fact, a woman who was at the viewing said she had met Marsh at the University of Arkansas many years before when she had listened to him deliver a talk on Daniel. She said she contacted Marsh 25 years later and told him how much that talk had meant to her and how it had bolstered her belief in the Christian faith. Quite a testimony.

Marsh was a stellar football player in high school and college and went on to play with the pros. The photos of him are ones that flanked his coffin today. He died of pancreatic cancer.

I know the world with miss this gentle giant, but Marsh is now free from the painful confines of a physical body.

Rest in peace, my friend, and may light perpetual shine upon your soul.


IMG_4648
2 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page