top of page

Gravity: The Film

Well, I am not going to be among those who shower lots of praise on the film, Gravity. While I thought it was very well-acted, I can’t say that it was a great movie. I wanted more exploration of the two (only) characters so that I could care more about them and their fate. As it was, there was so much action, there was not much time to learn who they were and how they felt about the terrifying situation they found themselves in. I will say I thought that George Clooney’s character was more clearly defined than Sandra Bullock’s. We had minimum information about her and therein lies the problem for me. How can we care about her when we know so very little?

Compared with a film such as Life of Pi, which has a similar theme of struggling to survive under extremely challenging circumstances, well, there just isn’t any comparison. Gravity felt underdeveloped and much more lightweight philosophically.

The film has the added disadvantage at this point of having major hype related to it. I entered the theater with very high expectations. That said, I had read the book Life of Pi (which was exceptional) and the movie surpassed all of my expectations.

So, I can not highly recommend this film. I will certainly say see it, but it will not go down on my top 20 list of favorite films.

The 3-D component was interesting and I ducked a few times since debris seemed to be heading right at me. The glasses at Century City AMC were lightweight and comfortable. That was a definite improvement.

On a scale of 5 stars, I’d give this movie a 3.5.  Not terrible, just not all that I had hoped for.  Still, Sandra Bullock can feel proud of her acting.  She was very good in this film.


sandra-bullock-george-clooney-gravity
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page