top of page

Grilling Up Here in Ojai

Ray suggested last night that we break in our “new” charcoal grill that our friend had given back after using it once in fourteen years. Of course the grill had been outside all those years so it was rusted. Ray brought it up here to Ojai, scrubbed all the rust off and then painted it black. He has been patiently waiting for a time we might use it.

Today was the day. Never mind it was 100 degrees here. Ray poured in the charcoal and got the grill going while I headed to the store for chicken thighs. Luckily, the ocean breeze was cool and we didn’t start until the end of the afternoon. The temperature started heading down as the sun began to set.

The gist, we had quite a feast. The chicken was delicious and so were the grilled vegetables and corn on the cob. I’m sure our neighbors were smelling that chicken grilling and wondering, “Who is grilling on a week day?”

That would be us.

This is even more surprising given that I was in my mid-fifties before I ever grilled anything, charcoal or otherwise. In my family, grilling was just too technical. My mother only cooked one dish, spaghetti with clam sauce, and my dad’s specialty was breakfast. All other food was either prepared by our housekeeper or came out of a can or box. No, I do not hail from a great culinary line. Alas, my Cousin Lee guided me through the rigors of grilling a few years back. If I say so myself, even Lee would have been proud of my chicken thighs tonight.

Ray was please to see that the grill worked so well. Much easier than grilling over the fire where we grilled our Thanksgiving turkey, but not that super easy option of gas grilling.

Yes, feeling proud.

Here is a photo.

0 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page