top of page

Hamburger Mary’s on a Thursday Night

I just walked through West Hollywood after being at Hamburger Mary’s where we went with friends for a Trivial Pursuit night, plus 1/2 of a drag show. I left before Ray and our friends because I need to get up early tomorrow morning to go with Liz all the way out to Rancho Cucamonga so she can protest a traffic ticket.

Hamburger Mary’s was fun. You sit at tables with pieces of paper and answer questions asked by a fellow with a microphone. He has regular Trivial Pursuit questions plus audio questions pertaining to music and movies. This is a 2 hour event with bonus rounds that promise opportunities for free drinks. Ray and I both won a round for our friend who was the person actually having a few drinks. My question: Which midwestern state boasts the biggest truck stop in the country? I naturally thought Iowa for some reason and I was right!

After the game, there was a drag show. This is the first I’ve attended besides Gay Pride weekend events, so I didn’t quite know what to expect. The MC was a big ole gal in a blonde wig, red lips and sequined dress. She was funny and friendly and put the crowd of about 100 at ease. She introduced the three acts, which I must admit were very good. Each lip-synched and danced to music they knew very well, then walked around the crowd gathering up dollar bills that everyone offered up. The best was one of the winners of the Rupaul’s Review and she was beautiful, sexy and talented. The show was off-beat and fun and there were several groups there celebrating birthdays. I just wish I had known about this last week when my brother and his kids were in town. They would have gotten a kick out of the entertainment.

Half-way through, however, I saw that it was almost 11, so I told Ray that I would walk home. My route on Santa Monica Blvd. in West Hollywood is completely safe – the sidewalks are full of people either at bars, cafes, and yogurt shops. That part of Weho feels festive, particularly on Thursday – Saturday nights so it was fun to watch all the people out with their friends and having fun.

I am now home with the dogs. As soon as I finish this post, I’m off to bed.

Sometimes it’s easy to forget that there are fun activities only a few blocks away that completely transform a run-of-the-mill Thursday evening. I will definitely consider returning to Hamburger Mary’s for the Trivial Pursuit part of the evening and will take friends there when they visit for the show. It’s pure Hollywood with a twist and definitely an entertaining way to spend an evening.

On that note, I’m heading upstairs. That was plenty of partying for me for one night.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page