top of page

Heading Home from Seeing Luna

We are enroute home from Arcadia, the town where Sarah and Gregorio live, which is about 45 minutes east of where we live. We are returning from a 4 hour visit with baby Luna and Sarah. Gregorio had to leave to go to class. He is getting a Master’s degree in Archaeology and tonight was his first class of the new quarter. So, Sarah asked if we could come over and keep her company while he was gone.

The good news is that I got to hold baby Luna for much of that four hours. (Grandpa did get his time in, as well.) She was soft, snuggly and sweet. She was also fairly milk drunk from having nursed just before we arrived so she was almost in pass-out level of sleep. Of course, that gave me the chance to unwrap her from her blanket and look at her little arms and legs for as long as I wanted – they are beautifully formed – and also to run my finger gently on her little cheeks and chin, getting more familiar with her face. Yes, it felt strangely like imprinting, not the baby but for me. Memorizing all those features.

I have a great nephew and niece, Eli and Sophie, who have been the closest approximation to grandchildren for me and I have spent time tracing their features as well. But they live in Salt Lake City so my exposure is more erratic. Luna’s proximity is a gift that I deeply appreciate. I want to savour this time. I know how quickly it will pass.

We are now in the heart of Hollywood, about 15 minutes from home. This time also is passing fast. LA is nice when the traffic isn’t too thick.

So, we will return on Wednesday night while Gregorio heads off to another class. We can’t do much, but holding the baby for a while at least gives Sarah a chance to take a long shower. With a newborn, that can be a luxury, so we are happy to do our part.

Now we’re on Sunset Boulevard and almost home. I better wrap this up. Thanks for all of your baby welcoming messages. I appreciate your support during this new life phase.

We are five minutes from home. Time to say good night.

Until tomorrow!

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page