top of page

“Healing” Writing

Well, I still haven’t done my paperwork – no muse visited this afternoon – but I have written my little heart out this evening and I’m happy about that. I have just concluded my “Writing as a Way of Healing” class and I spent this evening doing some healing writing of my own. While I am not prepared to share that writing, I can say that pulling the covers back on those dark, ugly areas of your life and letting some light shine in is truly therapeutic. I can already see that from just the amount of writing I did tonight. I can also highly recommend Louise DeSalvo’s book, “Writing as a Way of Healing: How Telling Our Stories Transforms Our Lives” if you are inclined to explore the tough stories in your life and need guidance.

My online class on healing writing has been quite an experience over this past month. The women were open, trusting and brave in their examination of painful past experiences. They were also generous and kind with their fellow writers and offered gentle and loving remarks. I was initially nervous about this class since I’d never offered it before, but I must say that I am pleased with the outcome. Everyone seemed to feel cared about and listened to and expressed thanks for the opportunity to push themselves to grow. It got dicey at times since each woman was exploring truly painful experiences, but in each case, they pulled back when they needed to and then carried on when they again felt safe. I am happy to have had the opportunity to share this time with these women. I grew through reading their brazenly honest and deeply personal writing. I felt heartened that hope can come despite very difficult experiences and the human spirit strives to overcome even the toughest of adversities. As is always the case when I finish one of these classes offered through Story Circle Network, I feel as if I have connected on a deeply personal level with my students. So, I am happy tonight.

On that note, I’ll say good night.

Until tomorrow…


traumaheart
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page