top of page

Hitting the Wall

We fully intended to get up this morning and head off to church for the celebration of one of St. Thomas’s most loved couples: John and Vince, who have been together for 50 years and who recently married after the new ruling by the Supreme Court on gay marriage. Ray and I both wanted very much to be part of the after-church reception for these two wonderful people. However, I am sad to say that is not what happened. Instead, we got up early, headed downstairs, then each o f us collapsed, one on the couch, the other on a nearby chair, with no energy to do much else. These past hectic few months had finally caught up with us.

So, instead of going, we stayed home all day, alternatively eating, taking naps, and staring at television. Then at 6 pm, we met our friend David for a pre-arranged movie date. We saw the new movie with James Cromwell, Still Mine, which was shot and produced in Canada. The film was extremely well acted by Cromwell and Genevieve Bujold, who played Cromwell’s wife. The true story centers on Cromwell’s character trying to build a house for his wife, who is in the early stages of Alzheimer’s, and the bureaucratic nonsense he confronts with the local building code office. I would give this film a 7 on a 10-point scale, primarily because of the fine performances by Cromwell and Bujold. The movie could be ten minutes shorter, but the real story – the long-term long relationship between this couple married 62 years – makes it well-worth seeing. I must warn you, however, that I cried like a baby at the end so be ready for a tear-jerker. At least that was my reaction, I’m not sure everyone will find the story as touching as I did.

So, now we’re back home and Ray has already gone up to bed. I am quick to follow. Hopefully, we’ll get a good night sleep tonight so we can re-engage in our LA life.

I am sorry to miss our friends’ celebration, but the truth is it is time to slow down and rest. We can do that voluntarily now or at some point our bodies will just say, “Stop.” It’s always better to have a choice. So, today we decided to take it easy, take it slow, knowing that our friends’ celebration would be filled to overflowing with well-wishers. And it was, as David reported to us this evening.

So, off I go to bed, where I hope to linger for a good long time.

Until tomorrow, my friends…


Hitting the Wall
0 views0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page