top of page

Honey-Sweetened Pumpkin Muffin Recipe – Perfect for Fall

My daughter Liz shared this recipe with me a few days back. I have not tried it, but can already tell it’s going to be good. Pumpkin adds such a great flavor and I’m sure this is a perfect “fall” muffin.

I am including the recipe below. I feel certain I’ll be baking this up in the next day or two. I have a fresh pumpkin on my kitchen table ready to be called into service for this purpose. I just need a little extra time to bake and taste-test this recipe.

Still, I thought those of you who are eager for a taste of autumn might appreciate having this recipe at your fingertips. Please let me know what you think if you make it.

I am so glad we have the promise of cooler weather. It was still hot today, but I believe relief is in sight. I am ready for that and so are my sinuses. This hot dry weather is making me – and a lot of other people – pretty miserable with sinus/allergies problems.

Here’s to fall!

Honey-Sweetened Pumpkin Muffins

1/2 cup coconut flour (find at natural foods store) 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves 1/2 teaspoon baking soda 1/2 teaspoon salt 1/2 cup canned pureed pumpkin 6 eggs, beaten 3 Tablespoon coconut oil, melted 1/3 cup honey 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 12 pecans for topping

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Oil muffin pans. In a medium bowl, combine the coconut flour, spices, baking soda and salt.

In another bowl, place the pumpkin puree then add the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Add melted coconut, honey and vanilla and mix until well combined.

Add the flour mixture to the pumpkin mixture, blend with a whisk until most lumps have disappeared.

Spoon into prepared muffin pan, filling each muffin 2/3 full. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until golden. Place on wire rack to cool.

Nutritional Analysis: One serving equals: 127 calories, 7g fat, 230mg sodium, 11.7g carbohydrate, 3g fiber, and 5g protein.


pumpkin muffin
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page