top of page

If You Get a Hankering for Black Beans…

I made a big pot of black beans yesterday and I must say they were delicious. The recipe below is from the Food Network and is well worth trying if you want to switch up those pintos for something with a little more color and a slightly different taste.

I ate these with red onion, cilantro and cheddar cheese and the taste was so satisfying, I believe I could eat this dish for several days in a row.

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

1/2 pound dried black beans 1 medium onion, roughly chopped 3 fresh garlic cloves, pressed 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano leaves 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin Pinch red pepper flakes 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar Salt and freshly ground black pepper Chopped scallions, for garnish

Directions

The night before, soak the black beans in a large pot of water. The next day, rinse the beans, cover with 3 cups of fresh water and bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce the heat and simmer covered for 30 minutes, skimming off any foam. Stir in the onion and simmer 30 minutes more. Add the garlic, oregano, cumin, and red pepper flakes, and simmer uncovered for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in vinegar, and taste before seasoning with salt and pepper.

Turn out into a large serving bowl and garnish with chopped scallions

Let me know if you try this recipe. I always like to hear what other people think of the recipes I like.

Happy eating!


73BlackBeanSoup
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page