top of page

In Search of That Perfect Software…


I have spent the majority of today online, researching project management software tools.

No, I don’t blame you if you just yawned.

However, the truth is that I’ve been pretty jazzed at the idea that we could find a software program that would help us manage the myriad of details generated from the many projects in our joint Leatherwood-Beaty life.

Alas, I have not found the “right” program yet despite my serious (read: obsessive) effort to make this happen today. Yes, today, right now, at this very minute, so we can at last get organized.

Not that Ray is not organized. He has stacks of papers and Excel sheets that are quite impressive. However, all of this information is helpful only to him since he’s the only one who can access it and knows how to read it once it’s found.

I have downloaded at least four free programs, each one with great promise, only to find that every one of them has a slight problem. One was great, but wouldn’t let me adapt the calendar, which meant all of our estimating of job costs was off since we have one worker who doesn’t work the usual 8 – 5 Monday through Friday workweek. Another didn’t have any online support at all apparently due to its “old” age of three years. A third was “the one” except it was $239. a month, and that may not sound like a lot to you, but it does to me. Finally, the fourth seemed to be geared more toward the organization of workers than breaking down projects into tasks and costs and outcomes. Good grief.

Anybody have any suggestions for software that accommodates multiple projects with multiple tasks, which also includes a financial component? If you do, please share.

Right now, I’m feeling slightly defeated. So much information on the Internet and yet, I am sitting here literally 10 hours after starting this task with nothing much to show for my effort. I am willing to pay some money for this software. I just didn’t want to get into a hefty monthly payment to pay for my organizational tool. Alas…I just want to find something that truly works.

Again, if you have any suggestions, I am all ears.

On that note, I’m taking the dogs – who have been barking at some poor animal outside – and heading to bed. Ray has already gone up and I believe he may already be asleep.

So irritating…all this work with almost nothing to show for it. Okay, okay…I’m going to bed!

0 views0 comments

Комментарии


bottom of page