top of page

In Search of the Source for a Dylan Quote

I am listening to Bob Dylan. I have been trying to track down a quote that came from him: “Something large far off, up close ain’t never that big.” I’ve actually found the quote, but can’t find the song it is attached to. So, I decided to listen to some of his songs on Youtube on the off-chance I would hear the line. Of course, with so many Dylan songs, the chance is low that will happen.

Anybody know which song that line came from? If so, please let me know. When my beloved friend, Patricia, was dealing with a terminal diagnosis of cancer at age 32, that quote clearly described her situation for her. We talked about how true it is that when words as big as cancer start getting bantered around, the unknown looms formidably large; yet, when you begin actively dealing with what it means to have cancer, reality gets reduced down to a series of small steps. In other words, “Something large far off, up close ain’t never that big.”

Right now I am listening to “Tangled Up in Blue.” I must say this man can write some seriously fabulous lyrics. Here is the link for the song I’m listening to:


Please guide me to where I might find that lyrics if you have any idea. If not, then happy Monday evening. We’ll be talking tomorrow.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page