top of page

Jury Duty, a Beautiful Park, and Boston

It is 11:17 pm and I better hurry if I’m going to honor my commitment of writing for a minimum of 20 minutes a day. Ah, but what to write?

I am on jury duty for what will be 7 to 10 days. I can tell you that much, but no more. We received very specific instructions about what we are allowed to say and not say while serving as a juror. These are standards rules to ensure fair trials. The rules took at least 5 full minutes for the judge to read so I believe I have now almost exceeded what I am allowed to say…


20120726_093144_do26 grand park 1

On another note, the courthouse is right next to a beautiful park that the City of Los Angeles has spent millions of dollars to create. It is lovely and has a big fountain, lots of green lawns, and pink benches. There are clean public restrooms and a Starbucks right there and it is literally a sidewalk away from the door to the courthouse so everyone pours out on breaks and at lunch to enjoy the sun and the water and the grass. It helps the jury experience feel a whole lot more pleasant – being able to go outside on a gorgeous day. So, thank you Los Angeles. This park is a wonderful addition to downtown.

I listened to the news coverage on the Boston bombing suspects en route to the courthouse this morning and then as I was returning home. Plus, after I got home at 5, Ray and I watched the news on television. How wonderful it was to hear that the second suspect had been apprehended! It was gutsy of Boston to shut the entire city down, but it certainly paid off. Of course, there is much to learn about these young men and any possible accomplices they may or may not have, but what a relief to see such quick and careful action on the part of the police. Hurray. I feel grateful to our public servants who put themselves in harm’s way to protect us from those hell-bent on doing harm. I know we will all sleep a lot better tonight knowing they did such a fine job. A hearty thank-you is in order.

Good night to all. I hope you are all safe and sound this evening. I will check back in tomorrow for another 20 minutes of writing. Until then, be well.


police in Boston
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page