top of page

Jury Duty Woes and Lunch Spots


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am sitting here tonight wondering what to write about. I can’t write about the trial since I can’t talk about any of it until it’s over, so what else is there to discuss? My life is somewhat on hold until we are finally dismissed from duty, and I have already reported on the few things that I can comment as a juror. So, what to write about tonight?

I am frustrated in general right now. I have things to attend to and no time to attend to them. I have worries that I don’t have time to worry about. (I realize this is on the plus side.) I have plans I have no time to put into place. My hair is even out of control and I have no time to go get it cut. Poor me. Yes, pity party 101. I am sitting here feeling pretty droopy.

I realize my civic duty is important. I am proud to be serving on a jury. I am certain that this is a worthy way for me to spend my time. But at the same time I have my life to attend to and nothing much is happening.

This is what I know:

There is a great Mexican place at Grand Central Market where you can buy chicken, beef or veggie tacos for $2.50 each and one is so big that it really will be enough. It is on the far right wall of the market about half way down. You’ll see a crowd. There’s a reason. The food is delicious and inexpensive.

Disney Hall has a respectable lunch, either an entrée and vegetables (plus bread), a salad you make yourself, or a half sandwich and soup for just under $10 with your juror’s discount. That includes a drink.

Do not go to California Pizza Kitchen and order an entrée and an iced tea. With the tip, you’re looking at right at $17. Too much!

I went to China Town and ate lunch with a friend at the Empress’s Pavilion restaurant. It was a dim sum restaurant, which means that people come around with carts full of small dishes of food and you pick what you want. I had shrimp and scallop wraps, a spinach dumpling and a spring roll all for $7, which included hot tea. Turns out that Empress’s Pavilion is considered one of the best dim sum restaurants in LA. I highly recommend it!

The park continues to be a great spot before, at lunch, and at any break in the jury process.

You can get into the Museum of Contemporary Art for free with your juror’s badge.

One of these days, I’ll know other things. Right now, this is about it.


grand central market
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page