top of page

Last Days of My “Writing Short” Class

10:22 pm.

I have been working on the final critiques and line editing for my Story Circle Network “Writing Short” class, which is on writing Flash Fiction and Flash Memoir. The class officially ends on Monday.

I had the special treat of meeting three of my students in this class at the Stories of the Heart conference in Austin two weeks ago. How lovely to meet the women who have been sharing their stories with me over the past several weeks. I felt an instant sense of camaraderie with them.

I love teaching this particular class. Flash fiction and flash memoir (pieces that are generally no longer than 1200 words) are two of my favorite forms of writing. So much story packed into so few judiciously chosen words.

This particular class has been great. The students have been so interested in learning Flash and so willing to challenge themselves. I know they’ve felt uncomfortable at times working with such strict word count constraints, but each has swept her fears aside long enough to get strong stories down on the page. They have also embraced revision, which is, after all, one of the best parts of writing since it is coloring in the details after the story is in place.

I will miss this group of women. Hopefully, I’ll be seeing them in other of my classes in the future. Whatever the case, I am delighted I’ve had such a good experience with them over these past five weeks.

I have felt a strong connection with each centered on our shared passion for writing.  What could be better than that?

flash-fiction-danger
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page