top of page

Last Minute Work While Awaiting Our Guests

I am sitting with my student, Madison, and we are both having trouble writing today. It is, after all, the day before Thanksgiving and there are so many more interesting pursuits that we both could be doing. Still, we only have one hour together today before the celebration begins so I’m using this time to write my blog entry since later today might be too hectic to get it done.

As I write, my Salt Lake City family is heading 70 miles per hour in this direction, having spent the night in Las Vegas last night. They texted at 8 am and said they were starting off, and now it’s 11:27 and they could easily drive up at any moment. It is usually four hours to Vegas from here, but if the traffic isn’t too heavy and the wind is at your back, you can make it in 3 and a half. So, as I write, my eyes keep flitting to the front window in hopes that I will see their car pull into the driveway.

This morning I had all sorts of plans of getting up early and making food for their lunch, but, alas, I didn’t do that. Instead, I lazed around in bed until 8 am, knowing I had a student at 9. Once I did get up, I thought getting beds made and tidying the house might make more sense, so that’s what I did. My student helped me by letting me know early that she’d be coming late, so I also had time to color my hair – something that matters more to me than anybody else, but then again, I’m somebody, too!

So, here I sit with my second student of the day in a tidy house and freshly colored hair and no food for lunch. Oh well, Ray suggested that we hike up to a local restaurant on Sunset when everybody gets here and then come back for all the pie making and supper prep. That sounds good to me.

Ray – bless him – also got up and tidied up outside. The back patio and driveway are clear and ready for visitors.

I am ready, too. I am eager for my relatives to arrive and for the holiday to officially begin. Then I can relax, though I know there’s still a lot of work to do. The difference – I will have people around to share the tasks, plus I’ll get to chat all the while we’re working.

Tell me what you’re doing and what is your favorite food. Mine is the macaroni and cheese we’ll be making plus the homemade cranberry sauce. I could live on that stuff though my waistline might suffer more than it already has.

Happy Thanksgiving to all. I hope you will have a lovely holiday.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page