top of page

Last Night in Texas

It’s been a good long trip and we are here for our final evening. I just heard the cat hop off of the chair upstairs – his domain – and he is now eating. Amazing how sound can travel down the stairwell. I am sitting in the staircase room in one of the yellow wing back chairs, my feet up on a stool. This is a favorite spot to sit for me since I have the view of the beautiful woodwork all around me: the banister and railing of the staircase, the paneling, the mantle. This house is like a still life painting – look in any direction and there are fascinating details to take in.

Three hours later.

We have had two set of visitors this evening: family first and then out-of-town friends. It’s lovely to be here and to entertain. This is definitely a home meant for lots of people. The house seems to smile when there’s a knock on the door.

Time for bed. Tomorrow we’ll leave mid-afternoon and see how far we can drive before finding a place for the night. A long day ahead full of desert vistas.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page