top of page

Last night: Thai Takeout and Fun

I wrote 90% of this last night but literally fell asleep with the computer in my lap.  Thought I would get it out early today to count for my 20 minutes of writing yesterday! 

I have just returned from visiting Sarah, Gregorio and the kids.  Ray is up in Ojai with Liz,  and Rachael and Ariel are in Las Vegas.  I think Ron elected to bach it tonight in town versus making the trek to Ojai.  I was in Ojai earlier today – spent the night there last night at the orange grove – but came home early because I had a student this afternoon. Also, I had plans to see my former writing student, Fong, and his girlfriend Kelly before Fong heads off to medical school at Miami International University.  As it turns out, Sarah requested a visit tonight since Gregorio was going to play soccer and Fong and Kelly live nearer to Sarah than to me. Sarah suggested we all come over for Thai takeout, which we did.  Sarah and Fong have a connection because she was available for advice while we were putting together his essays and applications for medical school.

We had a lovely evening together. Nico and Luna provided endless entertainment, just being the cute and nice kids they are.  Fong and Kelly were so sweet with them, playing with them and helping with rescue efforts for Nico over and over as he climbed up on a chair or the couch or a table and needed help getting back down.  (He, at 17 months, is a constant motion machine.)  Luna regaled us with stories of the hike she and Nico went on earlier in the day with Mommy and Daddy (Sarah has a couple of days off before starting her last week of her final 14-hour-a-day hell rotation).  Luna was especially enthralled with the stream they found while hiking that allowed for lots of splashing and having fun and there were NO EELS!  Not sure where that concern came from, but she was pleased.

I am so happy that last minute connection worked for everyone.  I had a chance to see my beloved daughter for a few hours (and see her graduation outfit for her official end of residency next week), see the grandkids (and a brief but sweet visit with Gregorio, pre-soccer game) and also have a good time with Fong and Kelly before Fong heads out to Florida for his own medical school adventure.

Thank you, Sarah, for the idea and for hosting!

Life is very good.

pad thai

1 view0 comments

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page