top of page

Late Night Ramblings

It is 10:58 pm and I am sitting in the staircase room of our Victorian in Sherman. Sammie, the Scotty, just ambled by, looking for a spot to settle until we head to bed, and Cordelia, the Corgie, is stretched out on the tile in the kitchen, already sound asleep. Sammie is back, not quite sure where to light and now Cordie is up and herding her around the room. Dogs do bring their nature into the everyday, don’t they?

My feet are itchy and I suspect a mosquito is the culprit. We keep the back door open so the dogs can come and go freely, which also means that mosquitos have a direct route into the house. I haven’t seen many, but my feet are telling me that there’s at least one around. It is amazing what misery one tiny insect can bring, particularly if that insect targets sensitive spots. My toes would be those sensitive spots right now and I will have to drench my feet in Benadryl gel before I go to bed. Otherwise, I’ll be awake and itching well into the night.

Speaking of night, it is nice and cool this evening. The air is fresh and, though I don’t hear any wind, I suspect we have a decent breeze outside. I imagine the tree limbs are dancing in that wind.

I keep nodding off as I write. I was wide awake when I started writing, only now I find myself drifting into sleep with each new word I write. I expect the reason is simple: I have had a long, full day and now it’s time for rest.

So, off I go. I have fallen asleep again after writing that last sentence. Enough is enough.

Just remember to smile at the babies in your life. They are someone’s grandchild and the love you give them will do the world good. And remember we’re all someone grandchild, so we can all use a little bit more love in our lives. That is just the truth.


download
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page