top of page

Lazy Sunday and the Oscars

I am sitting in my back yard here in CA enjoying the sun. The temperature is 66 degrees and there is not a cloud in the sky. There is just enough wind to make it feel cool, but not cold. The sun is warm, but not hot. Ah, lovely.

Here is the back yard:


SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

Cordelia and Sammie are my only companions this afternoon. They are in the backyard, too, barking occasionally at a squirrel that taunts them from the limbs of the avocado tree. The rest of their time they are either dashing from one end of the yard to the other in pursuit is some insect or mysterious sound, or else lying in the grass, resting. Oh, the joy of being a dog.

Here they are:


SAMSUNG

The traffic is fairly busy on Doheny today. This is a main thoroughfare between Sunset and Santa Monica Boulevards and there are several post-Oscar parties that will occur not too far from here. The Vanity Fair after-Oscar party will be held on Sunset Boulevard, approximately ½ mile north of here, and Elton John will have a huge party under an enormous tent in West Hollywood Park, ½ mile south. There will be others as well in close proximity. After the ceremony, there will be a plethora of limousines dashing up and down the street long into the night, along with the hum of helicopters overhead. I have lived here long enough not to be fazed one way or the other. It’s just a good night to stay at home.

This is the first day in a while that I have had a stretch of hours with nothing specific to do. I am glad to have a break. I have been in the back yard for several hours, reading. That is about as luxurious as it gets for me: reading in the warm sun in February.

I expect to join the rest of the world in seeing at least part of the Oscar coverage in just a bit. I haven’t seen all the movies this year, but I am rooting for a few films. I wish Joaquin Phoenix would win for “The Master,” but I expect he won’t. The odds are not in his favor, but he did a truly masterful job in that role. Also, I would love for Helen Hunt to win for “The Sessions,” but I expect she won’t either. Though, I must say, she embraced her role with her whole heart. I hope – and believe – that I’ll get to see my favorite documentary: “Searching for Sugar Man” – receive a well-deserved Oscar. If you haven’t seen this film, make every effort to do so. It is heartwarming, gratifying and demonstrates to any person in the pursuit of a creative endeavor how to live life gracefully despite the outcome.


g24400000000000000066dfad44394a42d625eb31a9d08a85ef4898d0b3

On that note, I bide you good-bye for now. I hope your Sunday is going as well as mine. Let me know how you’re spending your time today. I always love to hear.

0 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page