top of page

Long Day of Work and Anticipation

The dogs are barking outside. It is 9:43 pm and I have no idea who or what they are responding to. I am tired. I started today at 6 am, was cooking by 6:30. Pumpkin in the oven followed by yams. It’s tough when you just have one oven. Rachael came yesterday and we cut up Idaho potatoes to cook and mash, then chopped up apples for homemade cranberry sauce. All of that is prepared and in the refrigerator. This evening after students from 9 until 7, I made two batches of cornbread, toasted white bread for dressing, and made a batch of oatmeal raisin cookies.

Now, the dogs are quiet and I am ready for bed. Tomorrow I have students from 9 until noon and family arriving perhaps at 11. Oops. Oh well, they can get settled while I finish up and then the festivities can begin. This is my family from Salt Lake City – my sister’s son, his wife, their two kids, my sister’s ex-husband, and on Friday, my sister’s daughter. I adore these people so I can’t wait to see them. It will be even better when they are coupled with my kids, their friends, plus more of our friends on Thanksgiving Day.

But for now, I’m going to put my feet up. I think it’s time for that.

How is Thanksgiving preparation going at your house? Please share in the Comments column.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page