top of page

Luna and the Advantages of Planning

I am on the Gold Line train heading out to spend the day with baby Luna and daughter Sarah.  This had not been my plan for today, but Sarah asked me yesterday if I could help her.  I had a dozen tasks slated for today that I scurried around yesterday and completed.  I am not


image

inclined to let a few pesky work issues get between me and my daughter and granddaugther.  I must also note how much more I can get done in a short time when I have an enticement of this magnitude.  Baby Luna’s soft skin and sweet little face can move Grandma into hyper-gear!

So I went to bed at midnight and got up at 5:30.  I had more to do this morning before heading off to the Hollywood and Highland station. 

Rachael was kind enough to.drive me. As we headed out, I told her that I had had to scramble to make this happen.  She said,”You and Dad drive me crazy with all your planning.”

My response, “Well, Daddy and I juggle a lot of different projects all the time.”

She shook her head.  “I just know that it takes 12 hours worth of planning for you to do something…or not do something.”

I like to think of myself as spontaneous, but it is true that Ray and I plan out our strategies for getting our work and also our play done in the most efficient manner possible.  I would even venture to say that the planning is one of those critical skills I’ve learned from Ray to make life go much more smoothly.  As my husband loves to say, ” Twenty minutes of planning a day can make everything go a whole lot easier.”

He is a bona fide expert at logistics.  I am still honing this skill having come from the seat-of-my-pants school of life.  But despite our daughter’s skepticism, I have come to learn that Ray is right when it comes to planning.  Everything does go smoother as a result and a grandmother might actually get to spend special snuggle time with her granddaughter because of it.

I rest my case.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page