top of page

Mind-Expanding Work

I just finished working for the past four and half hours with students on essays for their college courses. Wow. Am I ever learning all sorts of information that I might have skimmed over when I was 18 – 22. That is one of the best aspects of my job, I am constantly learning or re-learning what I may have forgotten!

To help one of my students more thoroughly with his history essays, I spent last night viewing two extraordinary documentaries: The Myth of Pruitt-Igoe, the massive housing project built in St. Louis in the early 1950’s and the 1974 Academy Award winning documentary, Hearts and Minds, about America’s involvement in Indochina and the Vietnam war. I would highly recommend seeing both of these fine films. The first can be found on Netflix; the second can be seen straight from YouTube. Both explore the social ills of America post World War II and provide a thought-provoking look at what propelled us into the Vietnam war and also into the creation of massive government projects under the Housing Act of 1949.

I worked with my other student on an essay that looked critically at an advertisement for Bombay Sapphire gin, exploring the ad agency’s approach to sell more product. Perhaps the line, “Ten journeys contained in a single drop,” gives you a hint of their approach. The other more on the nose advertising line is, “Bombay Sapphire Gin, The Spirit of Adventure.” Who knew that one sip could send you on such an amazing journey and make you a world explorer!

Suffice it to say, I’m tired, but also happy. I love learning new information. My brain feels as if there’s been a fresh infusion of sparks to the ole gray matter. If only I’d had some of that gin. Then, I could feel more intelligent while travelling round the world just by sipping on a glass of Bombay Sapphire…

Night night.


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page