top of page

More Essays and Two Scholastic Awards!

Well, I thought I was finished with all my students, but, as usual, I under-estimated the time it takes me to critique essays. Therefore, I spent an inordinate amount of time on Thursday evening, Friday evening and this morning working with students on their essays. The evenings were with college essay folks and this morning was focused on an online nonfiction class I’m teaching for Story Circle Network that requires detailed critiques.

The good news is I am now finished with all college essays (well. almost all) and don’t have anything substantive to do with my online class until Monday. That means I am now free to rest and relax here in Texas and just enjoy being here. Hooray!

I did get the good news last night that two of my writing students won awards for their personal essays in the Scholastic Artists and Writers contest, the most prestigious and competitive contest for youth in grades 7 -12 in the United States. Congratulations to Michael Wachsman for his Silver Key and to Sacha Versavel for his Honorable Mention in the Western Regional Awards (8 states) for Scholastic. These are not small awards since there are over 330,000 entries in art and writing that are submitted. Another big hooray!

And on that note, I’ll say over and out. I am going outside to enjoy this beautiful day.

Talk again tomorrow.

unnamed.png
0 views0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page