top of page

More Thoughts on My Writing Students…

I just finished uploading the work of my students for the Scholastic Artists and Writers contest. A frustrating bit of effort given that my internet here in Texas seems to be running exceedingly slow this evening. So, three hours later… Still, the submissions are in and now we wait until the end of the month to hear the results.

I have had all-state winners of gold, silver and bronze medals every year that I have had students take part in this very competitive writing contest, which must be about seven years now. I have also had two national winners, which I must say is quite a thrill since the big event is at Carnegie Hall in NYC and the teachers are honored as well as the students. That’s always a good feeling…

This year, I would say the entries are very strong indeed. I am so proud of my writing students and their very serious and dedicated efforts. I love writing, whether fiction or nonfiction, so when I have students who are willing to go through the writing and multiple revision process, I am always heartened. This suggests they have caught the bug and will be writing for many years to come. I love helping to uncover hidden passion.

So, despite the results of this contest, my students have already demonstrated to me their ability to write intriguing and thought-provoking essays and stories. That is prize-winning behavior on its own, with or without a trophy. And the reward will be an ongoing love of expressing oneself on the page. Ah, what joy that can bring.

I am now headed off to a warm bath and then bed on a very cold night here in Texas. It is supposed to be 12 degrees in just a bit. I plan to be snuggled under warm covers, fast asleep.

Good night.


Creativity quote
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page