top of page

My First Quick Write With a New Student

I am sitting with Elliot. He is a new student who needs help with his freshman writing. He goes to Beverly Hills High. His mom is here with him and she is reading a book while we write. We are going to write for five minutes as our first quick write. 

The dogs have been banished upstairs with my husband. They are a corgi and a terrier who are very sweet but can be very noisy. Elliot, you will get a chance to meet them either at the end of our session or next time.

Let me see, what can I tell you about myself? I am the mother of three grown daughters who all live in LA. Their names are Sarah, Elizabeth and Rachael. Sarah is married and I have two grandkids named Luna and Nico. They are 4 1/2 and 2. The good news is that I will get to see them tomorrow. My grandkids are two of my favorite little people in the world.

What else? I like your name. I might suggest Elliot as the name of a future boy grandchild. That is a short list so far. Aidan is on the list and now Elliot. You can see I don’t have many. Consider this a major compliment.

This quick-write gives you a tiny window into who I am. We will get to know each other much better as we spend time together. The most important thing for you to know about me is that I will not be super critical of your writing. I believe in supporting the creative flame, not snuffing it out.

Quick Writes TItle
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page