top of page

My Instant Pot and One of My Favorite Instant Pot Recipes

As many of you know, I have become a devotee of the Instant Pot.  When my niece Nicki told me what a positive impact this new gadget had on her cooking, I decided I had to try it. I tested it out at my brother Sam’s house and there’s been no turning back since that time. My family rolls their eyes when I get started on all the benefits of Instant Pot cooking.  Still, they seem to enjoy the food that I make with it.  Except for lentils. My lentil soup, which is usually a family favorite, just didn’t turn out well in the Instant Pot. Alas, nothing is perfect.

I made the recipe below again today and I have to say this is one of my all-time favorite meals produced in my Instant Pot. I know tried and true chili fans might turn their noses up at the idea of quinoa in chili, but I hope you’ll just trust me and try it. The quinoa is a delicate grain which takes on the flavor the cumin and the chili powder. However, there is something about how light it is in the chili that makes this dish so delectable. I literally ate three bowls of this today and could easily eat a fourth.  There’s just something about the mixture of turkey, quinoa and beans that feels solid and flavorful and just so damn good.

So, here is my favorite recipe yet again offered with the fervent hope that you will push away cynicism and just give it a try.  You will not be sorry, I promise.

On that note, I’ll say good-night.  I have some television watching to catch up on.

I’ll be checking back in tomorrow.

Instant Pot Turkey Quinoa Chili


Ingredients


  1. 1 lb ground turkey

  2. 2 tbsp olive oil

  3. 1 whole onion, diced

  4. 3 whole carrots, diced

  5. 3 cloves garlic, chopped

  6. 2 14 oz cans beans, I used pintos and black beans

  7. 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa

  8. 1 14 oz can crushed tomatoes

  9. 2 1/2 cups chicken stock

  10. 1 tbsp chili powder

  11. 1 tbsp cumin

  12. 1 tsp kosher salt

  13. 1/4 tsp pepper


Instructions




Set Instant Pot to saute and add 1 tbsp olive oil.  Brown turkey until cooked.  Remove from pot.



Add 1 more tbsp of olive oil and add onions, carrots, and garlic.  Saute for about 6-8 minutes.



Add turkey back to pot along with all other ingredients.  Stir.  Set Instant Pot for 20 minutes on high pressure.



When the timer goes off, use a dishtowel to release pressure valve.  After heat has released remove lid and taste.  Add more salt and pepper to taste.



Serve with shredded cheese and avocado.  If you like your chili thinner you can add more broth or less broth to taste.

IMG_2682
0 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page