top of page

My Second Song: Gabriel

Here is the second song that I have written.  This is based on a personal story of mine from when I was a young woman traveling in Europe alone. I met Gabriel in London two days before I was returning home and he was kind, loving and an overall good human being. He showed me around London for two days, then let me sleep in his bed while he slept on the couch the night before I headed back to the States.  He even took me to Heathrow and waved goodbye as I headed home.  Those two days with him are two of my happiest though I never saw him again.  A perfect gentleman in every sense of the word.

Here is the song:

Gabriel

Gabriel walks you round the streets of Central London

You can hear Big Ben tolling

You can walk those streets forever.

And you sense that he’s a little homesick

But that’s half of what pulls you to him

And he tells you of Barcelona

And the Church of the Sacred Family

And just when you need to tell him

Your boyfriend’s back home, waiting

His dark eyes stare into you

And he lets the river whisper

That you’ve been waiting for him forever.

And you long to stay there with him

And you long for a new start

And you hope that he will love you

Because you’ve touched his gentle spirit with your heart

And Mary was a virgin

When the angel came to see her

And when she understood the task

That he lay down before her

She said, “I am the handmaid 

And will follow as I’m guided

But she could not have imagined

The sorrow that awaited

When she saw her own son dying

On the cross at Golgotha

Humiliated and tortured

A sacrifice to our broken world

And you long to stay there with her

And you long for a new start

And you believe that she will love you

Because you’ve touched her gentle spirit with your heart

Now Gabriel takes you home

To his place in Soho

And he cooks paella and tapas

Like his grandmother back in Spain

And the candles glow like moonlight

On his angel face above you

And he leans down and kisses you

Until your knees are trembling

And he shows you how to feel

Amid the passion and the sorrow

There is sweetness in his sleeping

There are kisses in the morning

All the way to Heathrow

He will hold your hand so tightly 

Then Gabriel waves goodbye 

And you long to stay there with him

And you long for a new start

And you know that you can love him

Because he’s touched your gentle spirit with his heart

1403_728
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page