top of page

My Submission Plan

Today I submitted three of my pieces to literary magazines. I also followed the advice in the article I posted and actually took the time to read several magazines, especially the ones to which I submitted. My plan is to devote one day a week to submissions, something I haven’t done lately. It is time, however, time to get moving. Send the ships out as one fellow blogger calls it and see which ones set sail and which do not.

I have had several pieces published over the past several years and I am pleased about that. There is nothing like seeing a story you’ve worked hard to write and rewrite finally appear on the printed page for others to read. I know that part of the writing process is sending out submissions, which is about as opposite from creativity as it can be. Still, I think a once-a-week submission plan makes sense. It forces me to take the time and read and then see where I’d like to see my work published. I will also learn from reading what is being published. What I read today was impressive and wonderful.

So, that’s my plan and I’ve done Day One. More days to come, one next week, and one the week after. Surely, there will be ships that will open those sails and fly out into the open ocean. I expect that will be fun to watch. And for those that don’t, well, then I will learn.

Wish me luck. And good luck to all of you who are doing the same thing!

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page