top of page

National Teaching Award in Writing

I am happy to report that I recently received a national teaching award from the Alliance for Young Artists and Writers for my help in mentoring my writing students in their entries for the Scholastic Artists and Writers contest.  This is the oldest and most prestigious writing contest for youth, grades 7 – 12, in the United States.  This year I had several students who won state and regional awards and one who won a national silver medal for her personal essay.  The contest, whose past winners include such celebrated authors and artists as Truman Capote, Robert Redford, Andy Warhol, Richard Avedon and Lena Dunham, draws submissions from more than 330,000 young artists and writers. Only the top 1 % are recognized on the national level.

I am pleased and proud to be honored by this wonderful organization dedicated to nurturing the creative talents of American youth.

Much thanks to the Alliance for this recognition!

award
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page