top of page

New Resolve Prompted by My Visit to the Doctor

Today I had to go to the doctor for a physical and I am now home recognizing that it is time to do some life changing.

Apparently, I have some weight to lose : 10 – 15 pounds (not a big surprise, of course, since I can read a scale as well as anybody, but still, I was hoping since I am getting on in years I might be done with that pesky ever-present weight issue. Alas, not according to my doctor.)

Also, I need to start drinking a lot more water – 64 ounces a day to be precise. My doctor thinks I might be perpetually dehydrated and that is causing a few issues. So, I have already started downing the H2O.

In addition, I have been ordered to walk at least 30 minutes a day. She said this will also help drop those extra pounds. Yes, I already knew that, but somehow having her order me to exercise makes me think, “Okay, I have to do it.” So, there you go. Ray and I walked the dogs over to the bank and back this evening. Day One of the exercise program.

Also, she wants me to come in for blood tests and a few other pesky tests in 2 weeks. Fasting for 12 hours. She mentioned my blood sugar was slightly high and also that she wanted a good look at my cholesterol levels. Oh drat! I guess it’s time to start eating more vegetables and less of all those goodies I am so fond of baking. Perhaps those cakes and pies have caught up with me…

The truth is that I know I need to get my act together or the health problems they are gonna start coming.

So I am resolved to do my best to get my eating, exercising and drinking of water in good working order. Ray seems on the band wagon since he just got his cholesterol levels back and they need some adjusting.

On that note, I think I’ll go to bed. Sleep is, after all, another needed element for good health.

Consider this Day One for all my new good habits. I will check in from time to time on my dietary and exercise progress to keep you in the loop.

Hope you are eating well, drinking lots of water and getting in your 30 minutes a day of activity. If not, let me know and we’ll form our own little motivation club. Can’t hurt!

I’ll be checking back in tomorrow.

'Quit chewing tobacco? But that's the only source of fiber I get.'

0 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page