top of page

Not My Cup of Tea

We made it to the Wiltern tonight to see Alfie Boe. Unfortunately, we left at intermission because despite Alfie’s beautiful voice, his type of music – a sort of Opera/Pop was just not something that was compelling to either one of us. I felt bad on one hand because he was quite an entertainer – making jokes on stage and creating a strong rapport with the audience – but his brand of music, or the mix, was just not my cup of tea. It was as if he hadn’t quite decided what kind of music he was going to embrace – operatic or pop. I enjoyed hearing him sing a selection from Les Mis much more than the cover of Roberta Flack’s The First Time I Saw Your Face, and, yes, he did sing both. He also sang Through My Daughter’s Eyes, which is great with Martina McBride in its original form, but again, didn’t work for me. Anyway, you can see that it wasn’t exactly the show of the century, at least for us.

I wish this fellow well. I’m just not interested in his solo tour. I expect that he is wonderful when he’s singing opera. I might be happy to go hear him again when he’s in one of those wonderful productions. But as for tonight, I was glad to leave at intermission.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page